Book Review

Review – Blood Oath by Melissa Lenhardt

This is the second Laura Elliston novel, and continues to follow “Laura” and Kindle. I received a NetGalley copy, just like I did for Sawbones (review).


Western / Historical Fiction

29349315

Outlander meets post-Civil War unrest in this action-packed follow up to Sawbones.
Laura Elliston and William Kindle are on the run — from the Army and from every miscreant in the West eager to claim the $500 bounty for Laura’s capture as their own. But the danger isn’t just from those pursuing them. Laura and Kindle have demons of their own and a past that won’t stay dead. Exhausted, scared, scarred and surrounded by enemies, neither realize the greatest danger is yet to come.

(Goodreads)


* I received a free NetGalley copy in exchange for an honest review.

I think my biggest impression of this book is that it is exhausting. Laura and William are almost constantly running, and I felt like there wasn’t an actual story with a beginning, middle, and end. It was all middle. At the end of the book, their situation seemed no more resolved than the beginning.

I will say that I believe Laura’s character did a bit of growing, a little healing, at least. But I still had a hard time connecting to her character.

2 of 5 stars, I’m not sure I’ll be reading the next installment anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

