Book Review

Review – Beastly Bones by William Ritter

At the beginning of the year I read Jackaby by William Ritter. You can see my review here.

I’m fortunate enough to have access to both Overdrive and Hoopla through my library, and I borrowed the ebook version of Beastly Bones from Hoopla.


Young Adult / Historical Fiction / Mystery

24001095

I’ve found very little about private detective R. F. Jackaby to be standard in the time I’ve known him. Working as his assistant tends to call for a somewhat flexible relationship with reality . . .

In 1892, New Fiddleham, New England, things are never quite what they seem, especially when Abigail Rook and her eccentric employer, R. F. Jackaby, are called upon to investigate the supernatural. First, members of a particularly vicious species of shape-shifters disguise themselves as a litter of kittens. A day later, their owner is found murdered, with a single mysterious puncture wound to her neck. Then, in nearby Gad’s Valley, dinosaur bones from a recent dig go missing, and an unidentifiable beast attacks animals and people, leaving their mangled bodies behind. Policeman Charlie Cane, exiled from New Fiddleham to the valley, calls on Abigail for help, and soon Abigail and Jackaby are on the hunt for a thief, a monster, and a murderer. (Goodreads)


I just love how quick the story moves along, and I think Ritter does a good job of capturing the language and pacing of the literature that emerged in/around the time the Jackaby series is set in. I love how all the pieces of the story come together. There is a lot of wit in the writing.

I didn’t think this installment was quite as entertaining as the first, but I still very much enjoyed reading it. I look forward to reading Ghostly Echoes sometime, although it may be another few months before I get around to it.

4 of 5 stars

Have you read this series? Did you enjoy it?

❤ Julia

Leave a Reply

