Review – Second Position by Katherine Locke

I won an ebook copy of Second Position in the beginning of 2016. I can’t believe it took me so long to get to it. But I’m glad I finally did.

Second Position is part of my 2017 #RockMyTBR challenge.


25037429Four years ago, a car accident ended Zedekiah Harrow’s ballet career and sent Philadelphia Ballet principal dancer Alyona Miller spinning toward the breakdown that suspended her own. What they lost on the side of the road that day can never be replaced, and grief is always harshest under a spotlight…

Now twenty-three, Zed teaches music and theatre at a private school in Washington, D.C. and regularly attends AA meetings to keep the pain at bay. Aly has returned to D.C. to live with her mother while trying to recover from the mental and physical breakdown that forced her to take a leave of absence from the ballet world, and her adoring fans.

When Zed and Aly run into each other in a coffee shop, it’s as if no time has passed at all. But without the buffer and escape of dance—and with so much lust, anger and heartbreak hanging between them—their renewed connection will either allow them to build the together they never had…or destroy the fragile recoveries they’ve only started to make.

Book One of the District Ballet Company (Goodreads)


I give Second Position 5 stars!

This book was so beautifully painful to read. I’m a sucker for painful emotions-grief and confusion and the need to heal, and this book had me on the verge of tears from the beginning all the way to the end. Okay, maybe a few slipped out here and there.

I loved how Aly saw everything in relation to dancing. I mean, when something is your entire life, of course you see life through metaphors relating to it, right? It gave her a voice and a way of expressing herself that seemed right for the story.

I loved how Zed, who from the outside could appear to have his act together, is still really struggling and conflicted.

Both of them feel like they’ve lost everything, and the pain that tinges every interaction is so real, it wrapped itself around my heart and left me breathless, hoping that this was going to be ok.

 

One thought on “Review – Second Position by Katherine Locke

  1. Pingback: #RockMyTBR 2017 March Recap – Books in the Garden

Leave a Reply

