Book Review

Review – Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

As it seems I’ve been spending a lot of time in the kitchen lately, I decided to listen to another audiobook. This time the choice was Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger.


18193073

Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is the bane of her mother’s existence. Mrs. Temminnick is desperate that her daughter, who is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper etiquette, become a proper lady. She enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. Little do they know that this is a school where ingenious young girls learn a different kind of finishing. Mademoiselle Geraldine’s trains her young protégés in how to finish others: the fine art of death, diversion, deceit, espionage, and the modern weaponries. (Goodreads)


This was a cute little adventure to go on.

I admit that I may not have gotten very far reading this in another format, so it’s probably quite fortunate I decided to go the audiobook route. There were a lot of long and strange names, and I felt like the language–although I understand it was trying to mimic the “time”–was too forced. There were also some times when I wasn’t certain whether Sophronia was speaking or thinking. I also found myself not caring whether I caught every word.

Despite all that, this was a fun book to listen to. It was a fair mix of adventure, curiosities, and girl drama.

I give Etiquette & Espionage 3 stars.

I thought the different technologies and touches of supernatural made for quite an interesting mix of elements.

I really enjoyed Sophronia’s wit and way of figuring things out and going about her little adventures.

I don’t really have much more to say about this book. It was a fun listen, but ultimately will probably not stick with me for very long.

 

Leave a Reply

