Book Review

Review – The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Lindsay Cummings has been on my radar for a while, but I hadn’t found any of her books in the electronic offerings of my library until now. Using Hoopla, I was able to borrow the audiobook of The Murder Complex


13576132An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings. (Goodreads)


Because I’m a fast reader, and often prone to skimming, it’s probably a good thing I listened to the audiobook of The Murder Complex. Listening helps me slow down and since I listed at 1x speed, I have time to process what’s going on. And there is a lot going on in this book.I also probably would have missed lots of tiny little clues.

I give The Murder Complex 3.5 stars!

I know, I don’t do half-stars often. But I feel like it was better than average, but not quite four-stars on my enjoyment level.

I really liked the descriptions in this book. The characters thought in terms of what they knew and were familiar with, which is an awesome part of setting up voice. Something that was a benefit of listening to the audiobook was that Meadow and Zephyr each had their own narrator. I didn’t much care for the voices themselves–but they did a good job. One thing that was difficult at times was knowing what was dialogue and what was thought.

I loved that this book was FILLED with action. There’s lots of bad guys and questioning motives, lots of twisty-turns.

THAT ENDING. It leaves me needing to listen to The Death Code, so I guess we know what my next audiobook is 😉

There wasn’t necessarily anything “wrong” with the book that takes away from my rating, it’s just the level of my enjoyment.

Thanks for reading, have you read The Murder Complex? What did you think?

–Julia

Advertisements

One thought on “Review – The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s