Garden · Personal

New Feature! – Gardening with Julia

I’ve wanted to garden for a long time. One day I dream of owning a little bit of land and sweet talking rows of beautiful produce that I can share with family, friends, and neighbors. I dream of having the time, money, and energy to invest in hydroponic farming. I dream of chickens and fresh food and my idea of paradise.

For now, I have to stick with what I can do in our small back yard.

I think part of my desire to garden stems from my grandfather always having one. He’s gone now, but I can’t smell fresh earth or see squash and tomatoes without thinking of him. My desire also comes from trying to be healthier, and to reduce the amount of money I have to spend at the grocery store. There’s also benefits for the environment this way, too.

At first I wanted to build a raised bed, but I’ve decided on trying this venture out in 5 gallon buckets, instead. Partially because I think it’ll be cheaper and less labor intensive than constructing beds when I’ve no experience with it, but also because this is my first time, and I like the idea of being able to move the plants around my yard if they are getting too much or too little sun (or if we decide to add something like a swing set for our son).

I put the poll to Twitter, and it seems the answer is yes, that people would be interested in seeing my progress. So, I am not only going to be blogging this adventure, I’m also going to try my hand at vlogging my progress, as well.

Stay tuned to see whether my thumb is green or brown, and whether or not I can make a bucket garden work in the demanding Texas weather!

Garden Graphic (3)

3 thoughts on “New Feature! – Gardening with Julia

Leave a Reply

