Book Review

Review – Raining Embers by Jessica Dall

Palmer Tash always follows the path of least resistance. He has an unusual disability involving his hearing. But in theocratic Latysia, being different isn’t a good thing, so he conceals his problem.

Brier Chastain’s malady is even more debilitating, and she often must take to her bed for long periods. Her days are spent in meaningless pursuits as she awaits an arranged marriage.

When Palmer and Brier are kidnapped on the same night, they meet and discover that their so-called disabilities are actually budding powers. They are the incarnations of Order and Chaos. With their country on the brink of war, the two must step into their predestined roles and learn to take control of their own destinies. (Goodreads)

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I give Raining Embers 3 stars! As much as I liked the story, it wasn’t enough to really suck me in or leave me with a “wow!” feeling.

Positives:

  • I thought the story was interesting and well put together.
  • I enjoyed the Italian and German(?) inspiration in the dialects.
  • The alternating POVs were easy to follow.
  • I enjoyed how Brier and Palmer were opposites, but worked well together.

Negatives:

  • Characters, although they did show a little growth, lacked complexity.
  • Palmer’s disability, mentioned in the first paragraph of the description, ceases to be an issue even after they leave Ruhegipfel.
  • With as much importance as seemed to be put on the “Church” in the beginning, it fizzled out quite easily.
  • In general, I think I would have liked more details. More insight to Brier and Palmer’s powers, how they worked together and apart, more world details.
  • The Goebel story line seemed to take a back seat for a long while, showing back up towards the end as convenient after several “months” of Brier and Palmer seemingly unconcerned about them.

Other:

  • I guess there’s a chance that some of my negatives could be solved in later installments in the series. As it is, I would read them, but I’m not sure I’d actively seek them out.
Leave a Reply

