Resource Review

Resources! National Novel Writing Month – NaNoWriMo

November is National Novel Writing Month. Also known as NaNoWriMo, the idea is to challenge yourself to write a 50,000 word novel within the 30 days of November.

When I first heard of NaNo, I thought it was a great idea, how could there be any cons to such a productive month!? While I find myself planning to attempt this idea again, I thought I might share some of the pros and cons that I’ve come across in the time between first learning of NaNo and now. I think that ultimately, it comes down to who you are and how you work that determines whether NaNo could be right for you. So here are some things to consider:

Pros Cons
  • An opportunity to form a daily writing habit or set numerical word count goals
  • Both online and local writing communities to engage with/in
  • Pep talks and tools to help increase creativity and productivity
  • Feeling of accomplishment at having finished the challenge
  • For some, numerical goals are more harmful than good–they can stunt creativity and productivity
  • Focus on quantity over quality
  • An added amount of stress to daily life that can become unhealthy
  • Feeling of inadequacy if you don’t finish the challenge

When I set out to write this, I felt like I had a lot more to say on the subject…

How about you? Do you participate in NaNoWriMo? Why or why not? Do you agree or disagree with the points above? Do you have anything to add?

One thought on “Resources! National Novel Writing Month – NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

